What is a Chakra ?


Chakra is a Sanskrit word and translates to a spinning wheel of energy. There are seven main Chakras which begin at the base of the spine, they align with the spine and run through to the crown of the head.  they are a conduit for Prana, the vital life force of all living things, which also keeps us vibrant and healthy.

The Chakras correspond to massive nerve centers throughout the body, they directly affect our psychological, emotional and spiritual energy states. In order for the chakras to work effectively they must remain open and aligned with a good energy flow.

A healthy Chakra will spin at a strong and healthy pace, reflecting the natural rhythms of the Earth. Modern everyday life can easily knock the chakras out of balance, so regular Chakra balancing is essential in the high drama, high tech world we now find ourselves living in.

The body is not a material object, it is a field of energy, swirling vortexes are the order of the day, and we all resonate on frequencies governed by our thoughts feelings and emotions. Each of these Chakras identify a core human need. When the Chakra is functioning proficiently the energy that flows through allows the needs to be met effectively. Should there be a blockage in the Chakra, the energy becomes stagnant making our intentions more difficult to actualize, and certain areas of our life and body will be directly affected. Which will manifest as some form of weakness within our mental, emotional, phycological or physiological body, often showing itself as some form of illness, sickness or dis-ease.

The first three chakras, starting at the base of the spine are chakras of matter. They are more physical in nature.


First Chakra/Root Chakra

Physical Location: The bottom of your spine, where your tailbone is located

Color: Red

Element: Earth

Chakra stone’s: Red Jasper, Ruby, Bloodstone

Chakra stone’s: Carnelian, Citrine, Orange Aventurine, Orange Calcite, Tangerine Quartz

Aromas/Incense: Myrrh, Patchouli, Vetiver, Lavender, Sandalwood; Cedar-wood, Clove, Cedar, Rosemary

The Muladhara is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. Physical/Material, Groundedness, Vitality, Will Power, Identity; Basic Survival Needs (food, shelter, clothing, rest, money, procreation); Self Preservation; Root Support; Bodily Consciousness / Survival Consciousness; Deep Unconsciousness; The Primitive Self; Reptilian aspect of brain; the Seat of Kundalini. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. 

The Root Chakra is foundational, when it is in balanced there is a feeling of security and calm, you will feel grounded. You will feel bold and able to tackle new challenges with confidence, you will feel safe and fearless.

The Root Chakra can become blocked or out of balance when something threatens your basic survival needs such as loss of an income, housing, spouse etc. when the Root Chakra becomes blocked you will feel anxious, threatened and panicked, everything feels uncertain, you will become pre-occupied with worrying about stuff in your life.


Second Chakra/Sacral Chakra

Physical Location: 2 inches below the navel

Color: Orange

Element: Water


Chakra stone’s: Carnelian, Citrine, Orange Aventurine, Orange Calcite, Tangerine Quartz

Aromas/Incense: Myrrh, Patchouli, Vetiver, Lavender, Sandalwood; Cedar-wood, Clove, Cedar, Rosemary

The Svadhisthana chakra is our creativity and sexual center. Emotions, Feelings, Pleasure, Sensuality, Sexuality, Desire, Creativity; Intuition, Empathy, Personal/Social Needs; Personal power and security; Duality/Polarity, Change and Movement; Emotional Consciousness/Tribal Consciousness; Self Expression; The Emotional Self; Animal instincts;



Third Chakra:/Solar Plexus Chakra 

Physical Location: Upper Abdomen

Color: Yellow

Element: Fire

Chakra stone’s: Citrine, Amber

The Manipura chakra means lustrous gem, it is our center  for personal power Power, Self Empowerment, Motivation, Intellect, Mental Force, Vitality, Strength, Energy and Action, Morality, Judgment; Center for Personal Power; the Ego; Sun/Solar Center; Self Desire to Express Individuality


Fourth Chakra/ Heart Chakra 

Physical Location: Center of The Chest 

Color: Green

Element: Air

Chakra stone’s: Malachite, Green Tourmaline,Agate, emerald, Aventurine

The Anahata Chakra:The fourth is also spiritual but serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection, unconditional Love, Compassion, Emotional Balance, Harmony, Relationship, Mutual/Shared Experiences, Devotion; Union; Bridge between Physical World/Self (lower 3 chakras) and Spiritual World/Self (upper 3 chakras); Mind-Body Connection; Power Source for human body; Spiritual Growth; Space of Integration.


Fifth Chakra/Throat Chakra 

Physical Location: Throat

Color: Blue

Element: Sound (Akasha); Ether 

Chakra stone’s: Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Aquamarine, Turquoise

The Vishuddha chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. This is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth, communication, Self-Expression, Vibration, Dynamic Creativity, Inspiration, Truth; Gateway to Consciousness; Center of Sound; Inner Voice. 


Sixth Chakra/3rd Eye Chakra –  

Physical Location: Between the Eyebrows, lower central of forehead

Color: Indigo

Element: Light; Inner Sound 

Chakra stone’s: Amethyst, Lapis, Iolite

The Ajna chakra is located in between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra. Ajna is our center of intuition.Insight, Intuition; Clairvoyance; Psychic Abilities; Intellect, Imagination, Abstract Thoughts, Realization; Spiritual Insight and Vision; Visualization Center; Intuitive Knowledge 

We all have a sense of intuition but we may not listen to it or heed its warnings. Focus on opening the sixth chakra will help you hone this ability.


Seventh Chakra/Crown Chakra

Physical Location: Top of The Head

Color: Violet

Element: Thought

Chakra stone’s: Clear Quartz, Light Amethyst

 The Sahaswara chakra or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is located at the crown of the head. This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. It is located at the crown of the head.

Balancing Chakras: There are many different modalities to balance the Chakras. The use of crystals and stones that resonate with a particular Chakra is a very common practice and something that can be done with a basic knowledge of the principles, plus the type of crystals or stones to use that will resonate with the vibrational frequency of a particular Chakra and amplify the healing intention and restore-rebalance the energy body by removing blockages




The Founder and content writer of The Peace Love and Happiness Movement

Yvonne is the founder and content writer for The Peace Love and Happiness Movement. She is passionate about emotional intelligence and personal growth. For the past 15 years she has made a study of human consciousness, and the changes that we need to make as individuals and collectively to live our best life possible.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *